Discussion Forum: Classes: Looking for a Teacher:
General thoughts (rant?) on looking for a teacher

Lizpagan
Novice

Apr 11, 2005, 12:32 PM

Post #1 of 15 (4655 views)
Shortcut
General thoughts (rant?) on looking for a teacher Can't Post

I'm not looking for a specific recommendation -- this might belong in the more general thread, as it might turn into a rambling, splenetic monologue about the state of my practice and even the state of yoga teaching in the US today...

If you think that there's no place for crabbiness or criticsm in yoga discourse, please don't read on.

I studied with an Iyengar teacher and was very happy for 9 years. If you told me 3 months before I left her that I wouldn't be studying with her (indeed, wouldn't be doing a teacher training with her, or even studying in the Iyengar system) I wouldn't have believed you.

But owing to a series of events too tedious to enumerate here, I ended up leaving, and went on to do a 200-hour Yoga Alliance teacher training at an [insert other style of yoga here] studio. I enjoyed it, and I've been doing some subbing over the past year, and am starting to become comfortable in the role of teacher but feel I still have a long way to go. Face it, a 200-hour training barely scratches the surface.

But I've come to feel that...hmm... in this [insert other style of yoga here], let's say "their bench lacks depth." There's a lot of enthusiasm, but a lack of experience and context. You see people all around who take classes for a year or two, do a 200-hour training, quit their jobs and PRESTO! they're yoga teachers.

I don't want to be taking classes from them.